The MercedesTrophy 2018


.The MercedesTrophy – Where passion for golf meets the prestige of Mercedes-Benz
The MercedesTrophy is an exclusive international invitation tournament series for golf enthusiasts who are also Mercedes-Benz owners. Every year, more than 60,000 golfers in over 60 countries tee off as they aim to take home the coveted MercedesTrophy.  
The MercedesTrophy celebrates its 30th anniversary this year, which means that for over a quarter of a century it has challenged golfers from across the globe with a one-of-a-kind, top-class golfing experience. 
Early days
It all started off back in 1989, when Mercedes-Benz began to hold a tournament series for amateurs at national level. The tournament was very popular amongst Mercedes-Benz customers and the wheels were set in motion for the tournament to shift into a higher gear.
MercedesTrophy is born
In 1991, both the format and the name were changed, and the first MercedesTrophy for customers and friends of Mercedes-Benz took place. By now, the tournament series had established itself as a highly-anticipated event that took place on every continent.
Finding the finest amateur golfers
The MercedesTrophy currently has a three-stage tournament structure. At the first stage, there are invitation tournaments at local and regional level, in which players can qualify for the national finals (as is the case in Germany) or the regional finals (for example, in the Latin American region). Thousands of golfers put on their best show as they drive, chip and putt their way to become national or regional champion.
Golf in the island sun
In Sri Lanka, the MercedesTrophy Sri Lanka Country Finals are organized annually by Diesel & Motor Engineering PLC (DIMO), Sri Lanka’s automotive pioneer and only Authorised General Distributor for Mercedes-Benz in the island. This is widely known to be the island’s most luxurious golf encounter due to its affiliations to Mercedes-Benz, impeccable organisation, challenging courses and outstanding prizes. Participants are able to combine their passion for the game of golf with their love for Mercedes-Benz, as they enjoy a sense of camaraderie and friendly rivalry.
The very first Mercedes-Benz Golf Championship was held at Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) in May 1992 as part of the MercedesTrophy with 141 golfers teeing off. Mr. Lalin Samarawickrema emerged the winner with a Stableford score of 36 in the Group of A. The 8-member winning squad got the opportunity to represent Sri Lanka in the Asian/Regional Finals held in Malaysia in July 1992. Had they managed to win any of the 4 tournaments at this event they would have had the chance to be part of the MercedesTrophy World Final held in Germany on their very first attempt.
Regional battles
The winners of MercedesTrophy Sri Lanka Country Finals have the honour of representing Sri Lanka in the Asian Finals where they tee off against the winning golfers from 8 other countries.